Task Force on Untold Stories and Disenfranchised Populations

The Task Force on Untold Stories and Disenfranchised Populations (Task Force) was established in 2019 following the discovery of disturbing images in Emory yearbooksCharged by President Claire E. Sterk and Provost Dwight A. McBride with reflecting on potential approaches, strategies, and forums for examining Emory's complex history and its relationship to the university's vision for its future, the Task Force met throughout the fall 2019 semester and submitted its report in spring 2020.

In response to renewed calls from the Emory community to reevaluate its founding narratives, President Fenves and Provost Love reappointed and recharged the Task Force with focusing its scope on telling the story of Emory's past with specific attention to two disenfranchised populations—the enslaved persons with ties to Emory and Indigenous peoples on whose land Emory's campus was erected.

The Task Force's Charge

Serving in an advisory capacity to the president, the Task Force on Untold Stories and Disenfranchised Populations is charged with reviewing opportunities for recognizing, observing, and memorializing the contributions of disenfranchised populations to Emory University.

The committee is tasked with developing recommendations for:

  • honoring enslaved persons whose labor contributed to the construction of Emory College;
  • awarding scholarships to attend Emory to descendants of the enslaved persons whose labor contributed to the founding and operation of Emory College, with preference for undergraduate scholarships;
  • memorializing Indigenous peoples who previously lived on land now owned by Emory; and
  • expanding existing curricular offerings focused on the legacies of slavery and Indigenous populations.

Task Force Report

The Task Force submitted an executive summary of its report on April 1.

Read the Executive Summary  Read the Emory News Center Story

Task Force Membership



  • Anandhi Bharadwaj
    Vice Dean for Faculty and Research; Goizueta Endowed Chair in Electronic Commerce and Professor of Information Systems, Operations Management, Goizueta Business School
  • Zakiya Collier 21C
  • Mary Dudziak
    Asa Griggs Candler Professor of Law, Emory School of Law
  • Gregory Ellison II 99C
    Associate Professor of Pastoral Care and Counseling, Candler School of Theology
  • Eugene Emory
    Professor of Psychology, Emory College of Arts and Sciences
  • Michael Griffin 21PH
  • Sue Haupert-Johnson 95T
  • Carol Henderson
    Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion, Chief Diversity Officer, and Adviser to the President
  • Douglas A. Hicks
    Dean, Oxford College
  • Preye Jituboh 21C
  • Riya Kalra 19Ox 21B
  • John Leach
    Associate Vice Provost for University Financial Aid
  • Deborah Lipstadt
    Dorot Professor of Modern Jewish History and Holocaust Studies, Emory College of Arts and Sciences
  • Molly McGehee 07PhD
    Associate Dean for Faculty Development, Director of the Oxford Center for Teaching and Scholarship, and Associate Professor of English and American Studies, Oxford College
  • Megan E. O'Neil
    Assistant Professor and Faculty Curator, Art of the Americas, Michael C. Carlos Museum
  • Matthew Pinson
    Assistant Vice President and Chief of Staff to the Senior Vice President for Advancement and Alumni Engagement
  • Alyasah A. Sewell
    Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, Emory College of Arts and Sciences
  • Kylie Smith
    Associate Professor and Andrew W. Mellon Faculty Fellow for Nursing and the Humanities, Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing
  • Shakira Suglia
    Associate Professor, Department of Epidemiology, Rollins School of Public Health
  • Jason Ward
    Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, Department of History, Emory College of Arts and Sciences
  • Avis Williams 78Ox 98C 08T 18T
  • Astria Wilson 21T
  • Craig Womack
    Associate Professor, Department of English, Emory College of Arts and Sciences


  • Darlene Berry
    Executive Administrative Assistant, Office of the Provost; Administrative Support
  • Melissa Daly
    Assistant Vice Provost and Chief of Staff; Liaison to Office of the Provost
  • Anjulet Tucker 00C 09PhD
    Director of Programs and Engagement, Office of the President; Liaison to Office of the President

Community Feedback